Take Prompt Action

It’s important to take prompt action when you have been issued a traffic citation.  Remember that by mailing in a payment for the traffic violation you are admitting guilt and a conviction will be entered into your driving record.  We will work hard to minimize possible consequences and provide the best possible representation. 

Contact us online or at 630.708.0873.

Leaving the Scene of an Accident Attorney - Oakbrook Traffic Attorney

Illinois Hit and Run -Property Damage - Penalties

Leaving the scene of an accident is a serious criminal offense in Illinois.  If you have been involved in an accident and you drove away, it is very important that you consult an experienced attorney as soon as possible.  NoT. Henderson can help provide defense for "Leaving the scene" of an accident clients. matter who is at fault for the accident, it is against the law the leave the scene of the accident if you were involved. Experienced Joliet Attorney Tim Henderson will work with you to reach the best possible outcome.   Contact him today for a free consultation - 630.708.0873.


Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Property Damage

If there is property damage as a result of the accident but no personal injury or death, you are still required by Illinois law to provide the other driver with specific information:
1.    Name, address and contact details
2.    Driver license number
3.    License plate number of the vehicles involved
4.    Auto insurance information for the motorists involved.

If the court convicts you of failing to stop and providing the above information at the scene of a property damage accident, you could be charged with a Class A misdemeanor which can carry penalties of up to 1 year in jail, a suspended license and a fine of $2,5000.

An accident involving property damage with less than $1,500 property damage, still requires you stop and exchange information.  You are not required to report the accident to the police unless one of the vehicles is uninsured.  If there is property damage of more than $500 and an uninsured vehicle is involved, the accident must be reported to the police.
 


Crashing into a Parked Car and Leaving the Scene of the Accident

You are required by the Illinois Vehicle Code to leave your name, address, telephone number and license plate number if you crash into a parked car.  This accident must also be reported to the police.  Failure to leave the above information or failure to notify the police of the crash may result in a Class A misdemeanor offense - a criminal charge.
 

Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Personal Injury or Death

An even more serious charge is filed if you leave the scene of an accident that involves a personal injury or a death.  The Illinois Vehicle Code classifies leaving the scene of an accident that involves personal injury or death as a Class 4 felony offense which carries possible penalties of 1 to 3 years in prison.  If you leave the scene of the accident and fail to report the accident within 30 minutes, the offense is elevated to a Class 2 felony with a possible prison term of 3 to 7 years. A conviction for leaving the scene of an accident involving a personal injury or death will also cause the Illinois Secretary of State to revoke your driver's license.

If you are involved in an accident that results in a personal injury, death or damage of more than $1,500, you <a href=" https://www.dot.il.gov/trafficsafety/MCRinfo.pdf">must file an Illinois Crash Report</a> with the Illinois Department of Transportation regardless of who was at fault. This report is to be filed as soon as possible but not later than 10 days after the accident.  Failure to complete and submit the form as required may cause your Illinois license to be suspended.

Tim Henderson has experience handling these serious traffic charges and will vigorously work to provide the best possible outcome.  If you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident contact Tim Henderson immediately for a free consultation.  He has experience handling traffic cases in Cook, DuPage, Will and Kent counties (areas including Joliet, Chicago, Wheaton, Maywood, and Skokie).